How to undo an iPhone Update Using iTunes

Updates are distinguished by the fact that, in addition to introducing new features, we may occasionally encounter unexpected problems, system errors, poor battery performance, and phone restarts. Whatever the reason, the new version of the system may cause us to want to revert to the previous one. How do I undo an iPhone update? Although iOS has always been known for its stability, not every update is without flaws. Fortunately, Apple allows the so-called restoration of the previous version or simply another one from the currently available options (i.e. signed by Apple). So, how do I undo an iPhone update? It turns out that this is very simple to do with iTunes. Install it on your computer if you haven’t already. I’ll walk you through the update rollback process, i.e. uploading the previous version of iOS, in detail below.

How do I undo an update on my iPhone using iTunes?

To begin, I’d like to remind you that it’s important to ensure that all of the data we care about is either stored in the cloud or has backup copies. The data on the device will be erased if a new version of the system is uploaded.

  1. Go to ipsw.me and download the system version you want to roll back to. To do so, first, select your iPhone model, then the appropriate IPSW file, and finally press the Download button. It is important to understand that iTunes can only upload system versions that are currently signed by Apple. As a result, your options are limited to those highlighted in green. They can be found in the section Signed IPSWs.
  2. Disable Find My iPhone. You can do this by going to your phone’s settings and then Apple ID-> iCloud-> Find My iPhone.
  3. Update the iTunes software on your computer to the most recent version.
  4. Connect your iPhone to your computer, then launch iTunes.
  5. Enabling Safe Mode on the iPhone:
  • Turn off the device if you have an iPhone 8 or later. Then, while holding down the side button, connect them to your computer. Only let go of the button when the Safe Mode screen appears.
  • Turn off the iPhone 7 and 7 Plus. Then, while holding down the volume down button, connect them to the computer. Only let go of the button when the Safe Mode screen appears.
  • iPhone 6s and previous models: Turn the device off. Then, while holding down the Home button, connect them to your computer. Only let go of the button when the Safe Mode screen appears.
  1. On the computer, a window will appear with the options to restore and update. We’re intrigued by the Play option. So we press Play while holding down the Shift (on Windows) or ALT key (on macOS).
  2. Select and confirm the previously downloaded ISPW file.
  3. When the restore operation is finished, the iPhone will boot up with the previous version of the operating system. We can now restore a data backup or reset the phone to factory settings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *